Oparanya thanks Kakamega residents for their vote of confidence

Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya has retained his seat.

Oparanya was declared winner by county returning officer Grace Rono after garnering 387,999 votes against his closest rival, outgoing Senator Boni Khalwale.

Khalwale, who ran on the Ford Kenya ticket, got 134, 999 votes.

Cleophas Malala of ANC won the senator race with 258,178 votes against ODM’s Seth Panyako’s 198,602.

Trade executive Elsie Muhanda of ODM was declared winner of the women representative race with 341,880 votes, beating ANC’s Lydia Nyangala, who got 134,324 votes.

Though ODM retained the governor and woman rep seats, it lost several MP seats due to the NASA sibling rivalry. Only two out six ODM MPs were reelected.

Musalia Mudavadi’s ANC was the biggest winner. It bagged five of the 12 MP seats, followed by Jubilee with four, ODM with two, while Ford Kenya got one.

In his acceptance speech, Oparanya said his victory was a testimony that the people of Kakamega have confidence in his leadership. He promised to even do better in his second term.

“I hope we’ll work together as elected leaders for the benefit of the people of Kakamega,” Oparanya said.

Oparanya and Khalwale had a frosty relationship since their election to office as governor and senator in 2013. They ended up on the ballot to settle scores.

Malala urged Oparanya to hire NASA candidates in his county executive committee.

About Justice Winner 1072 Articles
Digital Media Strategist - I help you get seen, heard, known and paid using the digital media. I am the Founder and Editor of Rockstarvibes. Chat with me via WhatsApp

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.